Qride Pre Learner Course

This is going to be a tough two days – 6 hours each day.

I am very much looking forward to it, but will admit that we’re both a little nervous as well.

I did mention before that this is an optional course for us as we do not need a licence to ride Arthur. But I am hoping that the course will help us to better understand how to safely ride a scooter in and around our Brisbane suburb. I also think this course will be good for our brains, our balance and our coordination.

We were advised that we have to wear jeans, enclosed shoes, a long sleeved shirt and a hat. We also need gloves, and even gardening gloves are ok apparently. But I have bought myself a proper pair of bikie’s gloves, and Mick will use the ones he wore in Japan.

As we will spend a lot of time out of doors on both days, in The Big Pineapple Carpark, we also must bring our own lunch and water.

Before I made the commitment to do the course, I asked the instructor, Mark, how many people do not master the course. He told us both that around 10% of people don’t pass – learning to balance the bike and manage the clutch were the two biggest challenges. I learnt to drive in a manual car, and whenever we’ve hired a car overseas they have been manual, so I am hoping that my brain can click in to use the clutch on the bike.

But, even if I don’t master all aspects of riding a motorbike, I am determined to learn all the road rules specific to motorbike riders. In other words, if I cannot master the practical section, my goal is to ‘ace’ the theory.

Wish us luck!

Leave a comment